My background

I was a French major.  C'est vrai!  But don't let that alarm you, it just means I'm well rounded! I also have a master's in accounting, over 15 years of experience in financial services -- much of it at a Big 4 accounting firm -- a CPA and a Series 65 license to provide financial advice.  I made a career pivot into financial planning and I haven't looked back.  If you want the full CV, check out my LinkedIn profile.  If you want the full story, go here and read on.

Why I do this work

I approach life with honesty and authenticity.  This has always been true, but a while back I had a serious illness that really drove it home and changed my perspective.  Life is too short not to live with a full and open heart and focus on what matters.  That means I'm excited to understand each of my clients and seek creative solutions to your challenges, however big or small they may be. I chose financial planning as a career not because I love money, but because I love people.  I want to help you be more intentional about how you use your money and live your life. 

You may have noticed I focus on women and their families.  That doesn't mean I don't work with men, too -- I have plenty of male clients.  So why women?  We women have unique needs and challenges when it comes to our finances and we tend to invest differently, too.  Women report less confidence and knowledge of personal finance than men.  We're more likely to take time away from paid work, get paid less for the same work AND we live longer!  Also because, quite frankly, there are enough male advisors out there focusing on their male clients. 

You may also have noticed that the majority of the financial advisors out there aren't necessarily looking out for people like us.  Many advisors are more aligned with the interests of their firm's shareholders than their clients'.  If that's never occurred to you before, you're not alone and if it makes you mad, me too!  It's not surprising that our industry doesn't have the best reputation.  Thankfully, it doesn't have to be that way. 

How I do this work

I am a fee-only, fiduciary financial planner, which means I am legally required to act in your best interest and charge no commissions, ever. I’ll provide you with clear, honest recommendations that are the best choice for you and I'll explain everything so it makes sense.  I'm trying to make the world a bit better every day by increasing financial literacy, empowering women and improving lives.  Whether you're an established investor or just starting out, you matter to me. If this resonates with you, I hope you'll get in touch!

 


Still want to know more?  

The real goods... am I any fun to hang out with? (Um, yes!) What do I do when I'm not talking finances?

I live in Grand Rapids, Michigan with my beautiful family and Abby, the world's most lovable Goldendoodle.  We moved here five years ago from Chicago, where we'd been for about 15 years.  My husband and I were both born and raised in Champaign-Urbana (go Illini!), but we love it here.  My parents just moved here from Illinois, as well, and it's great to have them so close.

Our kids keep us pretty busy laughing, driving and barking orders.  When I'm not working or spending time with family, I can often be found volunteering at my kids' school or advocating for public education.

I love reading, live music, the outdoors -- hiking, kayaking, skiing, gardening, I'm game -- and good food and company.  I get super excited every time I see an interesting bird and I like to stay up late doing puzzles.  I do yoga to try to stay sane.  And I really, really love coffee.  Life's too short not to be who you are, right?

Enough about me, I want to hear about you! 

Family.jpg